Inspiration Through You

Hello, you intrepid person, you!

270833_10150221866741695_1838205_n[1]

 

Who else would it be? It’s me Saira, the traveling habitual pleasure-seeker writer of GoGo Gadabout. This is a quick post to say a big, massive, King Kong-like THANK YOU to my dear fellow blogger Raroto of Duniyaku for being sosososo kind and nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blog Award!

aa
I apologise for posting so belatedly, but for Raroto’s support – and to all of my other followers, fellow writers and to those just passing by, my appreciation is as ginormous as the length and breadth of my blog’s muse that is Indonesia. I have been so lucky to travel and write about all these far off places – and through reading all of your stories, thoughts and observations I continually find inspiration and motivation to never let the wanderlust and blogging cease. So I raise a glass to all you bloggers and explorers out there – keep up the writing, keep up the photography and most of all, keep the dream alive!

As part of this award, there are a few little rules I must adhere to…

First: thank and link the amazing person who nominated you. Raroto, thank you so much for all of your kind words and support, pretty much from the very start of  GoGo Gadabout!  Terima kasih banyakbanyakbanyaaaak! (does that even make sense?!)

Second: list the rules and display the award. 

Third: share seven facts about yourself.

Fourth: nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.

Fifth: optional – Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

 

Soooo, how about them seven facts then?! Here goes nothing…

1) In my twenty-five years on this planet, I have been diving, parasailing, caving, ridden an elephant, climbed a volcano – you name it – but, I have never ever learnt to ride a bicycle. Aaand I can’t whistle.

2) I have a black belt in Taekwondo – but am the wimpiest, least competitive martial artist you’ll ever meet.

3) I have actually, genuinely been lost at sea. In a dinghy the size of a table, 20 miles in the wrong direction and the engine decides to pack it in. Phone signal out and waves the size of houses – it was star-jumping and screaming SOS to a boat passing by that saved us, and not my foetal position quivering in the front of the boat.

4) I’ve drunk snake’s blood, eaten a camel burger, spicey bat – and yes, to my shame *hangs head low and mutters* dog. I’m sorry, I’m a terrible person. If it makes any difference, I wouldn’t go back for more.

5) I was once asked to be a video girl in a certain popular (and slightly sleazy) bhangra musician’s music video. I politely declined.

6) I have a habit of assigning personalities to inanimate objects and think they have feelings. Because of this, in shops I will deliberately choose the shabbier looking book or the more dented tin of beans because I think no one else will choose it and feel sorry for it.

7) I once tried on a dress in a shop. It fit perfectly when I put it on, but when it came to taking it off, it proved more than diffcult to shift it. After twenty minutes of shuffling and jumping around the changing room, I asked the changing room attendant to help me take it off. After another failed attempt, the member of staff then called for her manager who also, was unable to get me out of it. She left the changing room and returned with a pair of scissors and actually CUT ME OUT OF THE DRESS. All the while a group of Chinese schoolgirls are watching the whole thing and laughing their heads off.

 

Ok, so after that insight into what a crazy lady I am, here are 15 blogs that I feel are mooore than worthy of the title ‘Very Inspiring Blog’ !
In no particular order:

1) Lifetomyfullest
2) Indonesia In My Pocket
3) Fraulein Wanderlust
4) Globetrot Cat
5) In Transit
6) Travels With Bethany
7) Images and Journeys Of A Searching Mind
8) Teachsleeptravel
9) Live Simply, Travel Lightly, Love Passionatley and Don’t Forget to Breathe
10) Yallah Bye
11) Ssmera
12) The Nomadic Lifestyle
13) Aisha’s Oasis
14) English Wife, Indian Life
15) Maldives Dreamer
…aaaand there you go!

So just to finish, if you are reading this or have ever read even just a sentence from this blog, I thank you for inspiring me to continue on with the writing and the traveling, it really makes the whole blogging thing so worthwhile.

IMG_5331

 

Cheers!

The traveling, habitual pleasure-seeker,

Saira

 

 

 

12 comments

  1. I was grinning right at the start of your 7 facts until I got to #6. Hahahaha!!! You got me in stitches about the can of beans! So what’d it say after you picked it up – Tin-k you…? 😜
    King Kong ehugs for such a delightful writeup Saira 😊

    1. thank you! king kong size hugs to you too! :)

  2. Lol, that dear can of beans has many fans, me included! Your trip at sea sounds horrifying, I’m so glad you jumped for the stars! I love the dress story, too, that’s hilarious… maybe a bit embarrasing, but hilarious anyway! Congrats on your award, and thanks so much for awarding me,too! ♥♥♥ ;^)

    1. oh, it was extremely embarrassing! but those kind of situations often make the best stories! and your blog is definitely worthy of the award – it’s always full of excitement! :)

      1. Thanks so much, Saira, you’re so sweet! ♥♥♥ ;^)

  3. Thanks again for the nomination. Your updates are so funny. I buy books at charity shops like that. I Think it means that it has more character and more likely ti be more interesting read. Right?

    1. Definitely! I’m glad someone out there has the same logic as me :) and thank you to you, too!

  4. rheapatel22 · · Reply

    Your blog is great and really interesting! I was hoping you could kindly visit my blog and like or comment on anything you found interesting?

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! :) I’ll definitely drop by and have a look at your blog!

  5. Learnt a lot about you ! You are awesome :P

    1. Awww, thank you! and you are awesome for reading! :D

  6. […] can read the rules on her blog. I’m breaking some of the rules, mainly rule no.2 for not displaying the rule, and no.4 […]

Leave a Reply

